Inner Commentator Re-Heat

“Men are not prisoners of fate, but only prisoners of their own minds” Franklin D. Roosevelt

Thanks to Arther Partridge at his AyPeeCO blog, http://aypee.wordpress.com/, for this great quote. I find that’s one of the fortunate things about practicing mindfulness: discovering that you don’t have to be imprisoned by the thinking mind. It’s a simple matter of recognizing the mind for what it is, moment-by moment, and seeing its’ place in the overall picture.

So, what’s it like to have an off-screen color commentator whispering in your ear all the time?  Do you curse that voice, struggling mightily to find the longed-for mute button? Or believe every word that’s said? What happens when you make friends with the inner commentator?

~Margaret

11 thoughts on “Inner Commentator Re-Heat

  1. Since I am living a very fast-paced life full of critical details this week, I am so grateful for the reminder that I can do microwave meditations! And my goodness, the inner commentator has had a lot to say about how I’m handling everything, and it’s nice to be able to whip around and snarl at her, “Fine, would YOU like to handle all of this? No? I didn’t think so, so be quiet!” Bless her heart…

  2. When I become aware of the inner commentator it angers me initially, that the comments are invariably negative and that I have allowed them to speak. As a result of meditation practice I have come to accept that the voice will always be there and that by being aware I can have more of say in what happens as a result of the commentator. For one, I typically answer back, reminding myself that the negative statement is not true. This is is reinforced by a positive thought about myself and a wry smile. A sense of balance is restored and a mental note is made to be alert for another inner comment.

    On a related track, I wonder if this imagery of an inner commentator creates a sense of dual self that is not helpful. The inner commentator is not someone else. It is me. Does viewing the commentator in the fashion we are discussing it hinder acceptance of who we are, commentator and all?

    • Jeff, you make a good point about creating confusion re: inner duality. Who is the commentator? Who is me? The only good way to find out is to look at the available evidence with attention and kindness. Sounds like you’re on it! Thanks for the great response.

  3. What strikes me most is the impact of time itself on mindfulness and yet time itself has to be constructed in the mind.

    Added to this is the fact that once the brain has learned something it cannot unlearn even if what it learnt is not true.
    What is learned holds a place in time as if it becomes immortal and imprisoned in the mind.

    When one becomes truly mindful then the opportunity comes to release what is trapped and a new reality to be realised.

    Perhaps we are not prisoners of our reality more that we are prisoners of our unreality.
    thank you for sharing from my blog.

  4. The commentator is like a cranky child. If I push them away, they redouble their efforts to get my attention. When I give them my full, welcoming attention, they ease up. Sometimes my commentator is actually the other half of my dual personality whom I’m neglecting in the moment, and paying attention to that other half can rebalance me by reconnecting the halves.

  5. I find myself wanting to be friends with the inner commentator, in all her glorious aspects. Whether she be the strong internal critic, the angry child or the appreciative cheerleader, we have our most insightful chats when I meet her with presence, kindness and compassion.

Leave a Reply

