There’s No Place Like Home

Who else to go to but Bob Vila for the quintessential home?

Do you know that sense you get, when you’re away from the familiar, and you feel off, even uncomfortable? What would it be like, to have something so close by and familiar that you could always feel at home?

Here’s an essential meditation technique to try. Let’s call it “at home in my body.” You can try this right now, with just a minute or two.

Begin by taking a breath and re-arranging yourself a bit, to be the most comfortable you can. If you’re standing, re-balance your weight equally on both feet. If you’re sitting, adjust yourself so that you have both feet on the floor, and your shoulders balanced over your hips. Do whatever is needed to balance yourself in an easy, upright way.

Now start bringing attention to whatever sensations in your body you can feel. To learn how to do this, it can help to close your eyes the first few times you try. Just sense, from the inside, what you can feel going on in your physical body. You might find pressures where you are contacting the chair or floor. You may notice movements due to shifting, breathing or even your heart beating. You may feel the texture or tightness of clothing on your skin, or varying air temperatures.

It’s not important what you find. You may notice very little at first. You may find more physical discomfort than you expected. Just stay curious and notice what you can sense. This isn’t thinking about body sensation. It’s more direct than that; it’s simply awareness of body sensation.

After a minute or so, let the practice go, and notice what’s happening for you now. Capture the effect for yourself, of being at home in your own body. What do you notice?

~Margaret

15 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. From my room at the Catholic Theological Union in Chicago, with its oddly foamy blanket and stiff coverlet, I thank you for this ruby-slipper meditation. We always have the opportunity to be at home, no matter where we are!

  2. Thanks for summarizing this practice in a post. It’s funny, most of the time I postpone meditation for lack of the 30 mn I think I need. Actually 3mn are enough, and if you do it several times a day, you build up in A LOT of practice. I do appreciate you making that “micro-wave” meditation very clear, I’ll include it more often in my daily practice 🙂

  3. Great little practice. Even after such a short period of attending to sensations, I notice more relaxation, deeper breath, more settling into my body, more feeling of being present and ready to meet the next thing with more fullness of attention. This shouldn’t be a surprise to me, but what is actually surprising is that it takes almost no time at all (I probably only felt body sensations for 20 seconds, not a real minute!).

  4. Interesting. I think my body is numb. Or I’m deaf to it right now. It could be because it’s Monday morning, or that I’m tired. What I did feel at first was my jaw clenched and my upper back and shoulders tight. I think the more often I try to listen, the more I might hear. Or feel.

  5. Pingback: Embodied as the Universe | Inviting the Bell

  6. Loved this exercise. I so want to teach a class on ‘Mindfulness’, but not just as it used in most discussions, at a more granular level that takes our focus into what we are ‘doing’ so completely that we are in constant harmony with the moment and our surroundings and what may come next! Your exercise touched on that type of awareness. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

